CONTRACT FOR CARE · RIGHTS, CONSENT & GOVERNMENT POWER
Our Legal Case
A patient’s need for medicine should not become the pressure used to obtain a criminal admission. Examine compulsory disclosures, penalties for silence, coerced rights waivers, and the circumstances behind the signature.
Use this state record to trace the legal requirement, then compare it with the terms an office adds. The full work explains the constitutional case, consent analysis, evidence needed, and protections to demand.
Apply the constitutional and consent review to this record
- Government responsibility: Which law, binding rule, agency instruction, or public-provider policy requires the particular disclosure or consequence? Separate it from provider-added terms.
- Potential criminal admission: Identify the exact spoken answer, written history, certification, or explanation and the real criminal risk it creates.
- Penalty for silence: Record what happens if the patient invokes the privilege or refuses a rights waiver, including denial, discharge, or interruption of treatment.
- Consent and pressure: Preserve the circumstances of signing, severity of pain, accessible alternatives, and whether the patient could honestly accept the prospective obligations.
- Criminal-use protection: Identify legally sufficient immunity and limits on use of both the answer and evidence derived from it. A privacy assurance is a separate protection.
Read the precedents, evidence framework, clause review, and remedies and reform demands. The work develops a proposed constitutional challenge; applying it to a particular condition requires its facts and legal authority.
Tennessee · Compare the conditions
24 selected provisions, with sources and consequences
Read the rule, the office’s wording, and what happens if the condition is not met. The 24 selections distinguish medication agreements, office prerequisites, financial and attendance policies, and historical documents. Pain Medicine of the South has an agreement-text gap; other groups may have only financial or attendance evidence. These are public document selections; current office adoption and patient-specific terms need confirmation. Read each source label and confirm the version that applies to you.
TN-R identifies reviewed pain-clinic rules and inspection criteria, applicable to covered clinics; TN-G identifies clinical guidance; TN-I identifies payment, payer and workers’ compensation conditions. TN-X means the exact condition was not established as mandatory by the reviewed sources. Topic overlap is not proof that every fee, deadline or consequence is required. These are source comparisons, not findings of illegality.
Baseline key: TN-R: covered pain clinics · TN-G: clinical guidance · TN-I: payment and coverage · TN-X: exact mandate not established.
Consultants in Pain Management — medication and office conditions
Current web agreement · dated financial policy
Document or policy source · Practice source
Currently accessible medication agreement and patient policies; financial policy expressly effective January 1, 2015. Public linkage does not confirm every term is currently enforced. The cancellation definitions differ between the patient-policy page and financial policy; both are retained below.
| Condition / locator | Baseline | Published provision | Consequence / limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other pain therapies Medication agreement, item 6 and closing clause | TN-G / TN-X: multidisciplinary care does not establish an exclusive-provider purchase requirement. | Patients agree to participate in additional requested pain therapies and maximize noncontrolled medicines. | General agreement breach may lead to dismissal; specific services, prices and outside options are not supplied. |
| Lost or stolen medicine Medication agreement, final numbered list | TN-X: this exact consequence is not established as a state mandate. | Loss, misplacement or theft is among circumstances where clinicians may stop controlled prescriptions and recommend inpatient detoxification. | The wording says may; it does not establish that detoxification is clinically indicated in every case. |
| Repeated no-shows Medication agreement, item 12 | TN-X: exact attendance threshold not established as mandatory. | Three no-shows within a calendar year trigger medical-director review for possible dismissal. | Review and possible dismissal, not automatic discharge. |
| Refill timing Medication agreement, refill paragraph | TN-X: exact office deadline not established as mandatory. | Refill calls require two business days’ notice; processing is limited to weekdays, 8:30 a.m.–4 p.m., excluding holidays. | After-hours refills are unavailable under the published policy. |
| Pharmacy location Medication agreement, pharmacy paragraph | TN-R / TN-X: the reviewed one-pharmacy rule does not specify Tennessee-only dispensing. | All narcotic prescriptions must be filled at a Tennessee pharmacy. | The geographic restriction is more specific than the reviewed clinic-rule text. |
| Staff psychologist before medicine New-patient page, treatment-plan paragraph | TN-G / TN-X: mental-health assessment does not by itself mandate a purchase from a named practice. | The initial plan may include a staff-psychologist appointment before any medication is prescribed. | Possible prerequisite; price, external-provider option and exceptions are not stated. |
| Canceled visit and medication Patient Policies, opening paragraphs | TN-X: exact deadline and medication consequence not established as mandatory. | Cancellation after 3 p.m. the prior business day counts as a no-show; canceled or rescheduled visits receive no medication until a provider visit. | This page uses a different cutoff from the financial policy. |
| Office charges Financial Policy, commercial-insurance and cancellation paragraphs | TN-I / TN-X: fees are published office terms, subject to applicable coverage rules. | The 2015 financial policy adds $12 for unpaid-at-service copays; missed visits or cancellation under 24 hours may cost $25, with potentially higher procedure charges. | Current amount and payer-specific application need confirmation. |
Office records: Chattanooga
ETSU Health — public controlled-substance consent and agreement
Public agreement dated 2023 · branch use unconfirmed
Document or policy source · Practice source
University-hosted five-page document with December 12, 2023 in its filename. The two listed offices are primary-care evidence records, not verified specialty pain clinics. Current branch adoption and eligibility for controlled-substance treatment are unconfirmed.
| Condition / locator | Baseline | Published provision | Consequence / limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other prescribers p. 4, item 1 | TN-G / TN-X: coordination overlaps with guidance; this exact notice period is not established as mandatory. | Patients notify ETSU within 48 hours after receiving controlled medication from another provider. | General breach terms may restrict prescribing. |
| Tests, counts and cost p. 4, item 2 | TN-R where applicable / TN-I / TN-X: monitoring does not establish every private payment term. | Unannounced urine/blood testing and pill counts are required on request; medications accompany every appointment. Patients pay uninsured testing portions. | Published agreement condition; actual coverage and charges require confirmation. |
| Refill appointments p. 4, item 4 | TN-X: exact scheduling notice not established as mandatory. | Refills require an appointment; calls to arrange one require three business days’ notice. | Patients must align visits with their supply. |
| Lost medicine and early supply p. 4, item 4 | TN-X: exact no-replacement rule not established as mandatory. | Overuse, accidental destruction or loss does not justify an early refill. | Early replacement is refused under this wording. |
| Referrals p. 5, item 9 | TN-G / TN-X: assessment/referral is distinct from exclusive affiliated purchasing. | Clinicians may request assessments by pain specialists, psychiatrists or physical therapists. | No exclusive provider or price is identified. |
| Consequences p. 5, consequence paragraphs | TN-X: specific discharge grounds require separate evaluation. | Breaches may cause refusal of controlled prescriptions; some may cause dismissal, including abusive language or unreported outside controlled prescriptions. | Consequences are discretionary, not uniformly automatic. |
Office records: Johnson City · Kingsport
Nashville Neurosurgery Associates — current financial packet
Current-linked financial packet · opioid agreement gap
Document or policy source · Practice source
The current patient page links the July 2026 nine-page packet. Its final page is privacy consent. A different March 2026 packet contained medication-agreement wording; that older wording is not presented as the current agreement. These neurosurgical offices are not represented as confirmed long-term opioid clinics.
Additional source / version comparison
| Condition / locator | Baseline | Published provision | Consequence / limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Balance deadline p. 8, Patient Balances | TN-I / TN-X: private billing condition, not a prescribing rule. | Balances are due 30 days after the first statement, unless acceptable payment arrangements are made. | Ask billing about arrangements before the deadline. |
| Collection surcharge p. 8, Service Charge | TN-I / TN-X: exact charge not established as a government requirement. | A 35% charge may apply to a balance unpaid over 30 days after insurance pays and sent to collections; compliant agreed payment arrangements are exempt. | Published exception matters; lawful collectibility remains case-specific. |
| Unpaid copay p. 8, copay bullet | TN-I / TN-X: coverage conditions differ from this scheduling consequence. | Copays are due at service; an unpaid copay may lead to rescheduling. | Possible visit delay; no opioid-specific condition is stated. |
| Collections and continuing care p. 8, Unpaid Balances | TN-I / TN-X: clinic-specific legal classification must be checked before applying pain-clinic payment rules. | Collection costs may be added; later care is described as cash-only, and unpaid balances may cause discharge. | Do not assume this neurosurgical practice is governed by every licensed pain-clinic provision. |
Office records: Nashville · Nashville · Murfreesboro
University Center for Pain Management of Knoxville — attendance policy
Current-linked attendance policy · opioid agreement needed
Document or policy source · Practice source
Undated one-page appointment/no-show policy linked from the current patient-forms page. It establishes attendance and fee wording, not the contents of an opioid agreement.
| Condition / locator | Baseline | Published provision | Consequence / limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Early check-in p. 1, Late Arrivals | TN-X: exact arrival threshold not established as a state mandate. | Check-in is required 20 minutes before the appointment. | Patients arriving later may be rescheduled. |
| Missed-appointment fees p. 1, No Show/Cancellations | TN-I / TN-X: compare the applicable payer rules separately. | Without 24 hours’ notice, missed follow-ups and nonfluoroscopy exam-room procedures cost $75; new consultations and fluoroscopy procedures cost $150. | Published fees; payer-specific applicability needs confirmation. |
Office records: Knoxville
MidSouth — historical patient and financial policies
Historical packet · current branch adoption unconfirmed
Document or policy source · Practice source
The file indicates a June 15, 2017 update in a September 2019 upload path. Current patient resources direct patients to a portal; current use of this older packet was not established. Present-day facility contact details are verified separately.
| Condition / locator | Baseline | Published provision | Consequence / limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Between-visit prescriptions PDF p. 9, Prescriptions | TN-I / TN-X: exact maintenance fee not established as mandatory. | Discretionary prescriptions between scheduled visits carry a $25 monthly pickup/administrative charge payable at pickup. | Historical fee; neither present availability nor current price is confirmed. |
| Cancellation charges PDF p. 9, Cancelled Appointments | TN-I / TN-X: exact private notice windows differ from payer-specific rules. | Office visits require 24 hours’ notice to avoid $75; procedures require 48 hours to avoid $100. | Historical charges, not verified current rates. |
| Primary-care relationship PDF p. 10, Primary Care Doctor | TN-X: this exact office condition is not established as a universal mandate. | Patients must have a primary-care clinician for nonpain problems; new injuries are directed to primary care or emergency evaluation. | Separate-care requirement; no exclusive provider is named. |
| Treatment-plan compliance PDF p. 10, Right to Refuse | TN-G / TN-X: multidisciplinary care does not establish mandatory affiliated purchases. | Providers reserve refusal of treatment or prescriptions for noncompliance with the individualized regimen. | No particular purchased service, vendor or price is specified. |
Office records: Cordova · Jackson · Germantown
Pain Medicine of the South — agreement-text gap
Current locations verified · agreement text needed
Document or policy source · Practice source
The public forms page concerns records requests and associated paperwork. Current Knoxville and Lenoir City locations are verified, but no opioid agreement was recovered. A service list is not evidence that patients must buy procedures to obtain medication.
Agreement text needed. No substantive comparison rows created.
Office records: Knoxville · Lenoir City
Reviewed October 14, 2026. Public documents establish published wording, not current branch adoption, enforcement, appointment availability or a promise of medication. No practice was contacted. Inclusion is not an endorsement or legal finding.