CONTRACT FOR CARE · RIGHTS, CONSENT & GOVERNMENT POWER

Our Legal Case

A patient’s need for medicine should not become the pressure used to obtain a criminal admission. Examine compulsory disclosures, penalties for silence, coerced rights waivers, and the circumstances behind the signature.

Use this state record to trace the legal requirement, then compare it with the terms an office adds. The full work explains the constitutional case, consent analysis, evidence needed, and protections to demand.

Apply the constitutional and consent review to this record
  1. Government responsibility: Which law, binding rule, agency instruction, or public-provider policy requires the particular disclosure or consequence? Separate it from provider-added terms.
  2. Potential criminal admission: Identify the exact spoken answer, written history, certification, or explanation and the real criminal risk it creates.
  3. Penalty for silence: Record what happens if the patient invokes the privilege or refuses a rights waiver, including denial, discharge, or interruption of treatment.
  4. Consent and pressure: Preserve the circumstances of signing, severity of pain, accessible alternatives, and whether the patient could honestly accept the prospective obligations.
  5. Criminal-use protection: Identify legally sufficient immunity and limits on use of both the answer and evidence derived from it. A privacy assurance is a separate protection.

Read the precedents, evidence framework, clause review, and remedies and reform demands. The work develops a proposed constitutional challenge; applying it to a particular condition requires its facts and legal authority.

Kansas · Published conditions

Read the provision and its consequence together

26 selected comparisons across four service groups. Current agreement text, older indexed agreement evidence and access policies are labeled separately. Other groups show where agreement text is needed.

Match the authority to the patient and claim.

Kansas Medicaid’s chronic-pain prior-authorization criteria include an agreement and random urine screening. This is a coverage condition for the claims described in the policy, not proof that every Kansas patient must accept every clinic clause. The renewal section excludes long-term-care patients from the agreement and screening conditions. Read the source, exceptions and limits.

Baseline key

KS-M: Medicaid coverage criteria · KS-S: patient participation and clinical judgment · KS-X: specific condition not established by this review. No row establishes a statewide legal minimum for every patient or prescriber.

Genesis Pain Clinic

Published agreement — office use unconfirmed

Current forms page links an 18-page packet named New-Patient-Packet-2023.pdf; agreement p.6, scheduling p.8, financial terms pp.9–10. Document / policy source · Current practice source

Scanned packet downloaded and OCR-read; agreement and rescheduling pages visually checked. The agreement names Dr. Raza Jafri. Its application to other clinicians is unconfirmed. These are selected provisions, not a complete medical-consent review.

Selected term / sourceBaseline referenceDocument provisionStated consequence / limit
One prescriber/pharmacy — p.6 §1KS-M: Medicaid coverage criteria; qualifying claims only.Dr. Jafri and one pharmacy.Emergency or running-out exception; notify physician promptly.
Monitoring — p.6 §3KS-M: Medicaid coverage criteria; qualifying claims only.Intermittent pill counts and urine screening.Missed samples, timed counts or noncompliance may prevent opioid receipt.
Other substances — p.6 §7KS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.Listed mood-altering substances require prior physician agreement.Includes alcohol, sedatives and cannabis; permission exception preserved.
Lost medication — p.6 §9KS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.Secure storage; no sharing or selling.Replacement may wait until regular renewal, depending on circumstances.
Breach — p.6 §11KS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.Physician reserves the right to stop opioid prescribing.Does not specify a taper process here.
Rescheduled visits — p.8KS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.No telephone medication refills.Refill waits until the next appointment.
Attendance — p.8KS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.No-show or three reschedulings within six months.Possible practice dismissal; not stated as automatic.
Late rescheduling — p.8KS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.More than one business day’s notice requested.$25 first late rescheduling; $50 second.
Balances — pp.9–10KS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.Settle balance or establish payment plan before new encounters.Financial noncompliance may suspend services or lead to dismissal.
Card on file — p.9KS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.Card retained; overdue balance may be charged after 30 days.Advance notice stated.

Office records: Overland Park

Kansas Joint & Spine Specialists

Older indexed agreement — current copy needed

Undated indexed 12-page packet; office policy p.5 and agreement p.6; current-file retrieval failed. Document / policy source · Current practice source

This is postoperative orthopedic care, not proof of long-term opioid management. Search-index text was readable; direct PDF retrieval failed and current adoption is unconfirmed. Older packet addresses differ from the current location list. Contacts below use the current list.

Selected term / sourceBaseline referenceDocument provisionStated consequence / limit
Acceptance — p.6 introductionKS-S: patient participation and clinical judgment.Disagreement with the listed terms.Controlled substance discontinued.
Refill timing — p.6 §2KS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.Call at least three days ahead; Monday–Thursday, 8–5.No after-hours or weekend refill.
Clinical change — p.6 §§3–4KS-S: patient participation and clinical judgment.Function or condition changes; improvement prompts taper readiness.Treatment may change or stop.
Other prescribers — pp.5–6KS-M: Medicaid coverage criteria; qualifying claims only.Avoid outside controlled substances; coordinate another condition’s medicines.Office policy states immediate suspension upon reports of multiple narcotic prescribers.
Pharmacy — p.6 §9KS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.One pharmacy emphasized for consistency.No separate pharmacy-specific consequence stated.
Replacement — p.6 §10KS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.Lost, stolen or misplaced prescriptions.No replacement stated.
Documented abuse — p.5KS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.Further prescriptions cease.Discharge from care is possible.
Longer follow-up — p.5KS-S: patient participation and clinical judgment.Beyond twelve months, noncompliance or no further surgical options.Possible pain-management or dependency-treatment referral.

Office records: Wichita · Derby

Kansas Pain Management

Published access policy — opioid agreement needed

Consent and financial PDFs linked by current patient-information page; uploaded December 2023; financial policy references October 2018. Document / policy source · Current practice source · Financial policy

These are general consent and payment policies, not an opioid agreement. Shared documents are linked to five Kansas office records; branch adoption has not been confirmed. Missouri offices and service-area marketing pages are excluded.

Selected term / sourceBaseline referenceDocument provisionStated consequence / limit
Unaltered consent — consent p.1KS-S: patient participation and clinical judgment.Sign the form as presented; alterations not accepted.The form says health care cannot be provided without signature.
Treatment choice — consent p.1KS-S: patient participation and clinical judgment.Signature preserves refusal of recommended tests or treatments.Referral-facility choice is also preserved without treatment penalty.
Amounts due — consent p.1KS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.Patient assumes payment obligations.The form preserves legally or contractually required discounts.
Card/payment choice — financial p.1KS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.Card requirement applies to specified coinsurance situations; dual coverage is exempt.Without a card, coinsurance is due at service; unpaid prior balances block future appointments.
Collection — financial p.1KS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.Unpaid statement after 30 days, without another arrangement.Card charged; $30 declined-card fee stated.
Cancellation — financial p.1KS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.Less than 24 hours’ notice or missed visit.A $50 fee may apply.

Office records: Overland Park · Lawrence · Roeland Park · Overland Park · Leavenworth

Salina Regional Pain Clinic

Published access policy — opioid agreement needed

Current public service and referral page. Document / policy source · Current practice source

The practice describes a non-narcotic approach. Inclusion does not imply opioid prescribing.

Selected term / sourceBaseline referenceDocument provisionStated consequence / limit
New patient access — service pageKS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.Referral requested from the patient’s doctor.Contact referring clinician to begin.
Returning after a year — service pageKS-X: this specific condition is not established by the reviewed baseline.A new referral is requested after more than a year without services.Patients seen within the last year may call directly.

Office records: Salina

Pain Center at Kansas Spine & Specialty Hospital

Agreement text needed

Current patient resources and FAQ pages. Document / policy source · Current practice source

Reviewed pages describe visits and treatment. No opioid agreement text was available in those materials; this is not evidence that no agreement is used.

Agreement text needed. No contract terms inferred.

Office records: Wichita

Saint Luke’s Pain Management Clinic–Overland Park

Intake reviewed — opioid agreement needed

Current location page links four-page intake SYS-885, revised November 1, 2018. Document / policy source · Current practice source

The downloaded intake covers history and symptoms; it does not supply an opioid treatment agreement. No contract restrictions inferred from clinical questions.

Agreement text needed. No contract terms inferred.

Office records: Overland Park

HaysMed Pain Center

Agreement text needed

Current service and outreach page. Document / policy source · Current practice source

The page identifies Hays and Larned services. It does not provide an opioid agreement; outreach schedule and medication services need office confirmation.

Agreement text needed. No contract terms inferred.

Office records: Hays · Larned

Stormont Vail Pain Management Center

Agreement text needed

Current named clinic listing. Document / policy source · Current practice source

Location verified from the official clinic page. Agreement terms were not available in the reviewed listing.

Agreement text needed. No contract terms inferred.

Office records: Topeka

University of Kansas Health System — Comprehensive Spine Center

Agreement text needed

Current location listing explicitly includes pain medicine. Document / policy source · Current practice source

No opioid agreement text was available in the reviewed location material. Provider-specific and service-specific policies remain unverified.

Agreement text needed. No contract terms inferred.

Office records: Kansas City

Newman Regional Health — Pain Management

Agreement text needed

Current specialty clinic listing. Document / policy source · Current practice source

Official specialty page identifies acute and chronic pain care. The separate pain-detail page failed retrieval. Listed phone is the hospital main line, not a confirmed direct pain-clinic number.

Agreement text needed. No contract terms inferred.

Office records: Emporia

Published evidence; current office use unconfirmed.

Reviewed October 13, 2026. A shared form does not establish adoption at each branch. Actual enforcement, new-patient availability and prescribing decisions have not been verified.

Correct or verify a policy · Submit an agreement